The Patient Centered Medical Home

The medical home model holds promise as a way to improve health care in America by transforming how primary care is organized and delivered. Building on the work of a large and growing community, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) defines a medical home not simply as a place but as a model of the organization of primary care that delivers the core functions of primary health care.

This model encompasses five functions and attributes: Comprehensive Care, Patient-Centered, Coordinated Care, Accessible Services, and Quality and Safety.

Three organizations who offer Patient Centered Medical Home or Primary Care Medical Home (PCMH) status are AAAHC, The Joint Commission, and NCQA; each different in their process for achievement.

For more information:

APCA Services

The APCA is committed to supporting Alaska's Community Health Center (CHC) network in achieving transformation to the PCMH model as a means to reduce costs, improve effectiveness, and improve outcomes in healthcare.

In addition to the Supplemental Services APCA provides for PCMH transformation, we also provide weekly individual coaching, facilitation of a peer support network, and additional technical assistance and training to APCA members and grantees.  A future focus of the APCA will also be to help transformed practices plan for sustainability.

NCQA Certified Content Experts (CCE) 

The APCA possesses in-house expertise to coach and guide members through the process of practice transformation.  The following APCA staff are NCQA Certified Content Experts:

Patty Linduska, PCMH CCE       Contact at:
Tara Ferguson, PCMH CCE       Contact at:
Tom Taylor, PCMH CCE             Contact at:

Suzanne Niemi, PCMH CCE      Contact at:

Additional Websites